top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBeccah

"Hold you, the mommy"

"Hold you, the mommy"

Rolls from your heart and unsteady limbs,

Twenty times a day, watering the roots

Of this shaking progenic fruit


I'm always surprised you love me.

My death and resurrection,

Bursting from the fertile earth,

As me but not me,

As the mommy

And not the mommy I should be.


Child of poetry,

Sweet little boy

Of fierce love and tight grips,

Hold you the mommy today and every day.

I loath the idea of motherhood subsuming me;

Yet the connection with you is nearly the base of me.





32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Returning to Teaching in the Time of COVID

I went back to teaching in person this week. The starts at 6:30 am with coffee and confusion as I get my two year old son ready for daycare. I pulled into the student parking lot at 7:30 am, a time I

Joe

The push, the gush, the bloody beats, The heart that drums the patient pace: Redeeming, wine-soaked wash of peace, The steady pulse of patient grace.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page